Dropbox-1

 

From floppy discs to online storage

As time moved forwards and technology advanced we now have a more efficient way to save our most important files. Whether it is family photos, legal documents or papers for school you can use various online storage websites and applications. This is a need that the average person has. They need to have an easy way to store their information and necessary files. Online storage such as Dropbox and Google Drive has made such a difference in my work. It has become an essential technology that has supported learning, increased productivity as well as saved time during collaborations. I am a technology liaison. We have monthly meetings, but something that I presented on was an item called LittleBits. Now the benefit of online storage is that it allows me to share my lessons, photographs, experiments, cue cards, instructional materials, and more through Google drive. Now, all of the technology liaisons and teachers in my network were able to log on and use my information to help teach their classes. I have had a lot of people pull my work and modify it for their students. Without the use of a shared Google Drive folder, it would make the process so much more difficult. I don’t have the time in the day to look at e-mails from teachers and fulfill their request. I would have to e-mail all of my lessons as an attachment over multiple e-mails because our e-mails storage for attachments is limited. I am also able to have my files automatically save off of my computer to my Google drive and then later choose what files to share. With my Dropbox, I keep that as a backup to everything. I love how simple Dropbox is to use. Again, like Google Drive, I can share a folder and collaboratively work on projects. I use both online storage systems interchangeably. They both also have apps so that I can save stuff on my smartphones and tablets as well. This is one of the greatest features of online storage is that I can save from multiple devices. Since I have seven different devices that I use I can work and switch seamlessly and still retain all of my information.

The pitfalls of this technology are that there is a problem with security. Which comes with the ability of others gaining access to your information. Unfortunately, many accounts do get hacked, and your information can get accessed. It does not happen on a regular basis, but it is an issue. Mr. Greene (2011) stated, “Files entrusted to cloud-storage provider Dropbox were susceptible to unauthorized access via three attacks devised by security researchers, but the provider has since closed the vulnerabilities” (Greene, 2011 p.1). If you have documents that are very secure, online storage is not a full proof way to keep your documents. I had an issue with my email and Dropbox account being hacked and attempting to erase a folder of my information, evidence in a legal case.

I feel to make online storage technology even better would be to increase the amount of storage available for users. There is now a limited amount of storage space. You can get a vast amount of storage, but then you must pay a subscription fee. Ms. Biafore explains,

If you decide to store all your data in Dropbox, including music, photos, and videos, you’ll probably need more space. You can upgrade to a 100GB, 200GB or 500GB plan. 100GB of storage costs $99 per year; 200GB costs $199 per year and 500GB is $499 per year (Biafore, 2012 p.8)

This is something that online storage needs to improve. It should not be this expensive. There should be options that everyone can afford. Another improvement would be the ability to save information while not connected to the Internet. I am not always connected to the Internet while traveling. Even with my mobile hotspots there are times that it does not work. I always like to back up my work and having a feature for offline uploading would be useful.

This technology is featured in the following articles:

 

 http://www.cioinsight.com/case-studies/contractor-uses-digital-framework-to-reduce-costs.html

 

http://www.engadget.com/2016/01/27/dropbox-collaboration-office-online/
http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/feature/2431930/the-technology-behind-dropbox-sync

 

https://www.edsurge.com/news/2015-06-29-dropbox-hops-to-school-with-new-education-team

 

http://blogs.edweek.org/teachers/work_in_progress/2014/10/why_schools_need_google_drive.html

 

http://plpnetwork.com/2013/09/09/give-students-frequent-feedback-google-drive/

 

http://www.edutopia.org/google-for-educators

 

#Floppydiscs #onlinestorage #dropbox #googledrive #emergingtechnology #tech #save #work #technology #cloud #thornburg #Biafore #Greene

Resources
Biafore, B. (2012, 10). Dropbox collaboration. Better Investing, 62, 8-9. Retrieved from http://ezp.waldenulibrary.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1080971162?accountid=14872
Greene, T. (2011). Dropbox cloud was a haven for data thieves, researchers say. Network World (Online), Retrieved from http://ezp.waldenulibrary.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/884522750?accountid=14872
Comments
  1. 1docstu says:

    Frances:

    Your blog is an excellent summary about the features of online storage. As you have noted, the need to store information transcends both our personal and professional lives. Your concern about security is valid, and more needs to be done to protect information. Cost is also a concern for those with large amounts of data. It would be ideal is those engaging in research, such as students and faculty, had options to store their information through university-sponsored storage sites.

    Monica

Leave a Reply

